Gear Dilemma (Nikon Confusion?)

Sorry guys but I have to pause on my backlogs because of what I’m experiencing right now.

After almost two years of using my Canon S2 IS, this is the time that I need to upgrade to DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex).

Of course, i’ve been eyeing for a Nikon DSLR since I’ve began seeing it’s capabilities and output, now I’m torn of choosing what model and what lenses will suit me.

I’m usually in the field of events, portrait, fashion and glamour which are very evident in my post but I am really confused on what should be the best lens to used. Camera body does not matter on image quality but regarding it’s price, it DOES really matter.

I have a budget of 70k (hard-earned for almost two years) and here are my choices:

Choice A (If bought in Philippines)

Nikon D80 (bnew) – P35,000
Nikkor 18-200 3.5-5.6 VR (bnew) – P29,000

Total – P64,000

Choice B (If bought in Philippines)

Nikon D200 (bnew) – P55,000
Nikon D200 with grip (used) – P48 – P50,000
Tamron AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF] (bnew) – P17000

Total – P67,000 – P72,000

Now, here’s the good part.
A friend will be going to hongkong and he agreed that he will buy the items I need. (money down of course). I’ve already inquired the prices to Tony Leung of New Sankyo and his prices are all-the-way-down cheap! With their prices I could even buy a flash!

Choice C (If bought in Hongkong)

Nikon D80 (bnew) – P29,500
Nikkor 18-200 3.5-5.6 VR (bnew) – P25,500
SB800 (bnew) – P13,500

Total – P68,500

Choice D (If bought in Hongkong)

Nikon D200 (bnew) – P48,500
Tamron AF 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical [IF] – P13,500
Nikkor 55-200 4-5.6 VR (bnew) – P8000

Total – P70,000

But…
I need a camera for my travel in Cebu Sinulog and events after that. My friend will be in HK at the end of Feb!

So I have an alternative choice.

Choice E

Nikon D80 (bnew)  (will buy in Phil) –  P35,000
50mm 1.8 (bnew)  (will buy in Phil) – P7,000

Nikkor 18-200 3.5-5.6 VR (bnew) (in HK) – P25,500

Total = P67, 500

Whew…. so it gives me the headache. 😦

~ by Administrator on January 10, 2008.

6 Responses to “Gear Dilemma (Nikon Confusion?)”

  1. wala akong maitutulong dito! hahaha 🙂 impulsive at instinctive buyer ako so whatever I feel lang. magkano daw 18-200 vr? wala na bang mas mura nun? waaah!

  2. haha, nakabili na ko lens 50mm 1.8 for portraits. pinakamura na yung 25k na natanung ko sa hongkong. 😦

  3. buti ka pa yan ang nagpapasakit ng ulo mo, ako pera ang nagpapasakit ng ulo ko!!! hehehe….hanggang pangarap nalang ata ako… 😦

  4. I just happen to chance by your site. Personally I own a Nikon D80 and its really worth it! (I have tried a canon dslr before, you can really see the difference.) As for the 18-200 vr. This is also a really great choice, I own the kit lens, 18-135 and I borrow my friends 18-200 vr. I am now saving up for the vr lens! hahaha
    Option E sounds like the best idea! As I too am currently looking to buy a 50mm 1.8f. As for the flash, i think this should be a secondary purchase, as how often do you really use the flash anyway? (I prefer natural light/ day shots kase)
    Hope you make the best decision! =p

  5. @leigh

    don’t worry makakabili ka din ng cam. konting tiyaga lang at konting ipon ipon 😀

  6. @kween

    Hi! Thanks for your inputs, I need flash for events since this is where I am getting some of my income 😀 Still thinking the right lens to buy… It’s really not that easy since it involves a lot of money.. haha

Leave a Reply

 
