A failed coverage at Aliwan Festival ’09

I can say that my coverage for today’s festival is unsuccessful.

I came off from work at around 3pm and arrived 5 mins before 4 at Aliw Theater (where the judging was held). Since I’m already a bit late (the show starts at 4), I ended up finding a suitable area for me to shoot. The press area at the front of the stage was covered with photographers (who obviously came earlier). I walked a few kms to reach the front of CCP theater in which I was informed that the dancers will pass through.

After a few hours of waiting, the program started and the dancers (after their performance at stage) graced in the streets. I was surprised that the once empty street immediately turned lively. Lively in the sense that almost all people with cameras started blocking the dancers way. We are being advised to clear out the way but still, others are still persistent (I overheard na merong nagagalit pa). It was fun to watch, yeah, but it is ruining the spirit of the festival. Since I’ve realized that I will not be able to take some pics on my position, I hurriedly look for an opening where I could take a few good shots on the performers (good thing I had a few).

It’s just a sad sight to see as I remember the days when photographers are more “disciplined”.

Well, that is one of my comments. The other one is about the festival. I think they started too late. (Starting at 5pm with almost 20 contingents?). I’ve been to several festivals and based from my experience, they usually start early in the morning.

How can we take good photographs at night? (this is just from a photographers point of view). I understand that they might be doing this because shooting at daylight with the sun right above your head could easily drain the performers energy. But would it be hard to cover the event (video or photo) if it was held this way? I would rather watch than shoot.

Around 6:30, as darkness covers the city. I don’t feel like shooting anymore. Besides, I can sense that there will be a rainfall. (It did rain. Good thing I was already in my car.)

I ended up having less than a hundred shots. I hope next year, there will be few changes.

BTW, congratulations to “Buyogan Festival of Abuyog, Leyte” for bagging the crown. As for the Ilonggos, don’t worry guys we have the 2nd and 3rd seat 🙂

Below are the list of the winner for this year’s event:

[Festival Dance Competition]

Champion: Buyogan Festival of Abuyog, Leyte
2nd Place: Tribu Kasag from Banate, Iloilo (Kasadyahan Festival)
3rd Place: Tribu Paghidaet of La Paz National HIgh School, iloilo (Dinagyang Festival)

Runner Up Honors:
Siloy sa Alcoy
Karatong
Ibon-Ebon
Kalilangan
Kadayawan
Lapay Bantigue

[Float Design Competition]

Champion: “Abel Iloko” of Laoag City
2nd Place: “Lemba” of Cotabato
3rd Place: Tribu Paghidaet of Dinagyang

Runner up Honors:
Limbonan
Panagbenga
Ibon-Ebon
Pakaradyan
Lambanugan
Kaguinakit Ta :aya
Aeta

[Festival Queen]

Champion: Sian Elizabeth Maynard (Sinulog, Cebu City)
2nd Place: Romarie Ivy Cunanan (General Santos City)

Runner-up Honors:
Aliah Heitz (Kadayawan, Davao City)
Parul Framil Shah (Panagbenga, Baguio City)
Kate Lao (Pamulinawen, Laoag City)

Congratulations to all winners.

Cheers!

view my official gallery at my Multiply site.

~ by Administrator on April 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “A failed coverage at Aliwan Festival ’09”

  1. waaahhh!! atleast you’re there…me, i missed dis year’s Aliwan. 😦

Leave a Reply

 
